view all news
Complete Story


OSMA Gives Annual Awards


The following individuals were honored at this year’s OSMA Annual Meeting for being the OSMA Physician Advocate of the Year, OSMAPAC Donor of the Year, and Voice of Medicine.

Physician Advocate of the Year:

The OSMA “Physician Advocate Award" recognizes the extraordinary efforts of an OSMA physician leader who goes beyond their primary role of providing clinical treatment to their patients by advocating for the well-being of their profession, patients and the communities in which they serve.

2021’s OSMA Physician Advocate of the Year award was presented to Dr. Anthony Armstrong. Dr. Armstrong took the reins of the OSMA presidency just as COVID truly took hold in the U.S. in spring 2020, and was tasked with leadership in an unprecedented time, but did not hesitate to immediately get to work helping in any way he could. He found ways to reach out to his colleagues and support them, and has helped lead OSMA to new strategic initiatives with other state agencies in response to the pandemic.

In the early days of the pandemic, Dr. Armstrong appeared on one of Gov. DeWine’s press conferences to discuss the impact of COVID-19 in Ohio, specifically on minority populations, with Dr. Amy Acton, former director of the Ohio Department of Health. He was appointed to Gov. DeWine’s COVID-19 Minority Health Strike Force, which issued a report of recommendations and findings regarding minority health disparities in the state.

OSMAPAC Donor of the Year:

The 2021 OSMAPAC Donor of the Year award was presented to Dr. Anne Taylor. Dr. Taylor is an exemplary supporter of the OSMAPAC and has continued to stay engaged with efforts to support the OSMA advocacy agenda by consistently and consecutively giving an annual contribution of $1,000 or more to the OSMAPAC. Furthermore, she has committed herself to helping ensure the PAC’s strength in the coming years, and her passion for leadership and advocacy for her patients, colleagues, and community is evident. She goes above and beyond as she even frequently takes it upon herself to individually host her own personal political fundraisers.

Voice of Medicine Award/Guest Speaker:

The Voice of Medicine Award is presented to individuals outside of the health care profession that advance the OSMA mission of empowering physicians, residents and medical students and ultimately bringing physicians together for a healthier Ohio. It is given every other year. OSMA’s 2022 winner of the OSMA Voice of Medicine award is Governor Mike DeWine.

Governor Mike DeWine and his administration have, over the course of the past several years, acted as a strong ally to medicine with regard to the COVID-19 response, as well as other key issues that OSMA advocated for or against on behalf of physicians. Governor DeWine emerged as an early and strong leader in pandemic response, assembling an array of public health experts and medical professionals to advise his administration in the area of pandemic response, and taking action based on the recommendations of these experts.

Before the pandemic, the governor vetoed surprise billing and price transparency language in the budget bill in 2019 due to OSMA and physician community concerns about the unworkable nature of these provisions.

In addition, Governor DeWine signed OSMA-supported COVID-19 liability protections into law in 2020 (HB 606), giving physicians and those on the front lines of the healthcare system additional protections in the face of unprecedented challenges during the pandemic.

In recognition of Governor DeWine’s dedication, OSMA awarded him the 2022 Voice of Medicine award.

The Director of the Ohio Department of Health, Dr. Bruce Vanderhoff, was present at Annual Meeting to accept the award on the governor’s behalf. Named chief medical officer in November 2020 and appointed director in August 2021, Dr. Vanderhoff has led Ohio’s efforts to improve public health and eliminate inequities, as well as integral in state leadership managing the COVID-19 response and vaccination program. He delivered brief remarks to the House of Delegates as he accepted Governor DeWine’s award.


In your inbox 

Printer-Friendly Version